This is what I’m talking about people!

When I say “it’s not about the white sheets or futons on the floor”, this is what I mean:

When I first began my minimalist quest, I felt like I wasn’t “good enough” unless I conformed to what other people’s standards and definitions of minimalism were. When I decided that I didn’t really care about the physical number of things I owned, but rather about my attitude surrounding consumption, sustainability, and simple living, minimalism became a much more attainable and realistic goal.

Sometimes we get so caught up in the “rules”, that we forget the true heart of the matter, what really counts.

This was a comment made by Ann Marie (see her blog here) regarding a post on Courtney’s minimalist blog, BeMoreWithLess.  Courtney herself said this:

You might be a minimalist, or maybe you’re just happier living with less. Then again, what’s the difference?

In my version of minimalism, it’s not about the number of things you have.  It’s about your relationship with your things.  Do they rule you, or do you rule them?  Since I’m a girl and played princess when I was younger, you can bet your ass I want to be the one wearing the crown and holding the scepter.

Leave a Reply

