The Five Year Plan Revisited

I wanted to revisit yesterday’s post.  I think I may have missed Miss M’s point (this tends to happen to me a lot – please get used to it – I have!).  I think her and Mr. Babatua of zen habits have the same idea, but I understood it better when Mr. Babatua explained it here in his post entitled “The Best Goal is No Goal”:

What do you do, then? Lay around on the couch all day, sleeping and watching TV and eating Ho-Hos? No, you simply do. You find something you’re passionate about, and do it. Just because you don’t have goals doesn’t mean you do nothing — you can create, you can produce, you can follow your passion.

And in practice, this is a wonderful thing: you wake up and do what you’re passionate about.

Perhaps this is another way to look at it:  Have you ever heard the expression “Life is a journey, not a destination”?  Maybe what Miss M and Mr. Babatua are trying to say is that the goal is the destination, and thus not the point of it all.  And maybe the passion is the journey.  As long as you are passionate about what you do everyday, then where you end up isn’t important.  Who needs a five year plan when every day is filled with what you want to be doing right then?  You will have lived passionately.  And who could ask for more than that?  I think this quote sums it up well:

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”     ~Howard Thurman

That’s my (non)goal: to do what makes me come alive.  And right now?  Today?  I think I did pretty well.

One thought on “The Five Year Plan Revisited

Leave a Reply

