Happy Summer Solstice!

Lots to talk about today, so let’s get started!

In my “other” life, I’m a middle of the pack runner and triathlete.  You can read about my exploits here.  Since a big race a few weeks ago though, I’ve fallen into a pretty deep slump.  At the suggestion of a few people, I’m shifting focus, at least for a little while, to something other than running, swimming, and biking.  I’m letting myself sit quietly and be not active.  I’ve been casting about for what to grab onto next and everything is trending toward the creative.  I went into my sewing room on my own whim for the first time in months.  It was wonderful.  I found this blog and have been inspired to make a couple of cards, just for fun.  In fact, I snuck out of work at lunch and ran to Staples to by this:

Bic Color Collection Ultra Fine Markers, 36 pack

While I was there I also bought these:

Flower Power Pens!
Yay for office supplies that have moxie 🙂

There shall be no wallowing in self-pitying despair when there are flower power pens in the world!

I’m also inspired by Ari at Stopping for Daisies to start what I call “gluing” again.  Like her, I don’t scrapbook.  It stresses me out.  But what I do like to do is glue things to other things.  Bits of paper to bigger bits of paper.  Cut out words from magazines.  Color with markers.  Whatever makes me happy.  I plan on spending some hours this week coloring, carding, and gluing.

Lastly, I’ve gotten the urge to take pictures again.  This happens to me every now and again.  I have a dSLR, but it’s currently on loan to someone, so I’ll go with what I’ve got – a decent point and shoot of my own, and a borrowed point and shoot that is a bit better than mine.  I do have a question for all the bloggers out there with totally awesome pictures (MegaNerdRuns in particular): how do you get your pictures to look so “warm”?  I think maybe it has something to do with the white balance?  If there is a secret, please let me know – I’d love to be able to take such warm, inviting pictures!!  Or at the very least, fake them with photoshop!

In the spirit of my renewed interest in phototaking, I’m going to do this 30 day photo challenge.  I think it’s nice that I’m starting it on the first day of summer.  A new project with which to start a new season!  First post about this coming up later today.

I plan on posting pictures of my attempts at creativity.  We’ll see how they turn out – both the attempts at creativity and the attempts at photography 😛

Leave a Reply

